On a theorem of Lindelof

Vladimir Ya. Gutlyanskii, Olli Martio, Vladimir Ryazanov


We give a quasiconformal version of the proof for the classical Lindelof theorem: Let \(f\) map the unit disk \(\mathbb{D}\) conformally onto the inner domain of a Jordan curve \(\mathcal{C}\): Then \(\mathcal{C}\) is smooth if and only if arg \(f'(z)\) has a continuous extension to \(\overline{\mathbb{D}}\). Our proof does not use the Poisson integral representation of harmonic functions in the unit disk.


Lindelof theorem; infinitesimal geometry; continuous extension to the boundary; differentiability at the boundary; conformal and quaisconformal mappings

Full Text:



Ahlfors, L. V., Quasiconformal reflections, Acta Math. 109 (1963), 291-301.

Ahlfors, L. V., Lectures on Quasiconformal Mappings, D. Van Nostrand Co., Inc., Toronto, Ont., 1966; Reprinted by Wadsworth & Brooks, Monterey, CA, 1987.

Gutlyanskii, V. Ya., Ryazanov, V. I., On asymptotically conformal curves, Complex Variables Theory Appl. 25 (1994), 357-366.

Gutlyanskii, V. Ya., Ryazanov, V. I., On the theory of the local behavior of quasiconformal mappings, Izv. Math. 59 (1995), no. 3, 471-498.

Gutlyanskii, V. Ya., Martio, O., Ryazanov, V. I. and Vuorinen, M., Infinitesimal geometry of quasiregular mappings, Ann. Acad. Sci. Fenn. Math. 25 (2000), no. 1,


Lehto, O., Virtanen, K. I., Quasiconformal Mappings in the Plane, 2nd Edition, Springer-Verlag, Berlin-Heidelberg-New York, 1973.

Lindelof, E., Sur la representation conforme d’une aire simplement connexe sur l’aire d’un cercle, Quatrieme Congres des Mathematiciens Scandinaves, Stockholm, 1916, pp. 59-90.

Pommerenke, Ch., Boundary Behaviour of Conformal Maps, Springer-Verlag, Berlin-Heidelberg-New York, 1992.

Warschawski, S. E., On differentiability at the boundary in conformal mapping, Proc. Amer. Math. Soc. 12 (1961), 614-620.

DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.17951/a.2011.65.2.45-51
Data publikacji: 2016-07-27 21:54:08
Data złożenia artykułu: 2016-07-26 20:50:55


  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2011 Vladimir Ya. Gutlyanskii, Olli Martio, Vladimir Ryazanov