Ian Rankin: A diachronic Study of the City of Edinburgh

Florence Dujarric


Ian Rankin’s world-famous crime series features as a main character the city of Edinburgh, where Inspector Rebus relentlessly wanders, drives, drifts, tails and chases suspects. In each novel, the narrative visits a number of referential locations and examines them through the prism of time, slowly building a diachronic map of the city. As the series spans more than thirty years, the urban locus evolves as the narrative unfolds. Ian Rankin takes stock of new urban developments in real time and draws on them to feed his plots. Piecing a map together therefore remains a work in progress, and the literary geography of Edinburgh gazes out at an endlessly elusive horizon.


Ian Rankin; Crime fiction; Contemporary fiction; Urban studies; City in literature


Anderson, M., & Loxley, J. (2016). The Digital Poetics of Place-Names in Literary Edinburgh. In D. Cooper, C. Donaldson, & P. Murrieta-Flores, Literary Mapping In The Digital Age (pp. 47-66). New York: Routledge.

Atkinson, K. (2013). Life After Life. London: Black Swan.

Baudrillard, J. (1981). Simulacres et Simulation. Paris: Galilée.

Bayard, P. (2009). Le Plagiat par anticipation. Paris: Minuit.

David, S. (2015). Peacock’s Tale: A Laugh Out Loud Murder Mystery. Edinburgh: Polygon.

David, S. (2018). Peacock’s Alibi. Edinburgh: Polygon.

Ethinghton, P. J. (2007). Placing the Past: “Groundwork” for a Spatial Theory of History. Rethinking History, 11(4), 463-530.

Loxley, J., Oberlander, J., Reid, J., & Quingley, A. (2017). Palimpsest: Literary Edinburgh. Edinburgh University Press. Retrieved June 26, 2020, from https://www.ed.ac.uk/literatures-languages-cultures/english-literature/research/palimpsest.

Presner, T., Shepard, D., & Kawano, Y. (2014). HyperCities: Thick Mapping in the Digital Humanities. Harvard University Press. Retrieved June 26, 2020, from http://www.hypercities.com/.

Rankin, I. (1987). Knots & Crosses. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (1994). Mortal Causes. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (1996). Let It Bleed. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (1998a). Black & Blue. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (1998b). Hide & Seek. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (1999). Dead Souls. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (2000). Set in Darkness. Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (2004). A Question of Blood. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (2007). Exit Music. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (2013). Saints of the Shadow Bible. London: Orion Paperback.

Rankin, I. (2015) Even Dogs in the Wild. London: Orion Paperback.

DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.17951/lsmll.2020.44.4.111-125
Data publikacji: 2020-12-22 14:44:34
Data złożenia artykułu: 2020-03-31 22:23:41


Total abstract view - 1542
Downloads (from 2020-06-17) - PDF (Français (France)) - 423



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2020 Florence Dujarric

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.